Matt Woosey


  • Release date: 2016-03-12
  • Catalog #: RMRCD0108



Keep moving. Keep growing. Never repeat. Never look back.

It’s a bold ethos, at a time when most artists are flogged for more-of-the-same by their record labels. But from his arrival on the post-millennial British music scene to this year’s eighth studio album, Desiderata, Matt Woosey has always been a man in motion. “You have to keep pushing forward,” says the Malvern-based songwriter. “And if you’re not doing that, I think you’re doing it wrong.”

Desiderata is an album for modern times, by an award-winning singer-songwriter reaching unstoppable momentum. The title might be borrowed from Max Ehrmann’s deathless 1927 prose-poem, but this Desiderata is unmistakably Matt’s own worldview: the sound of a man slipping between life stages and expressing that transition in song. “The new album represents changes in my life,” he explains. “Y’know, getting married, having a baby, turning thirty. I guess the music is a musical interpretation of those things. To me, it doesn’t really sound like anyone else.”

Track Listing:

  1. Always Be the One
  2. Million Miles
  3. Who Do You Love?
  4. Mystified
  5. Lighthouse
  6. One Love
  7. You And Me
  8. Lovin’ Me Ain’t Easy
  9. Lighthouse Demo
  10. You And Me Demo
  11. One Love Demo

Desiderata Credits:

  • All songs written by Matt Woosey
  • Guitars and vocals – Matt Woosey
  • Bass – Danny Thompson
  • Drums – Clive Deamer
  • Piano and accordion – Bruce O’Neil
  • Pedal Steel – Bob Dixon
  • Disc artwork by Gretha Quinlann, South Africa  (
  • Album Design – Luke Jones (
  • Produced by Tony Hobden and Matt Woosey
  • Sobriety management: Adam Buhryn
  • Published by Maori Music (
  • Recorded at:
    • Modern World Studios, Tetbury
    • Sawmills Studios, Fowey
    • Further recordings made at:
    • The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Stratford,
    • Whitehouse studio, Kewstoke
    • Arlie’s Room, Uphill
  • Mixed by: John Cornfield & Tony Hobden
  • Engineered by:
    • John Cornfield
    • Tarrent Shepherd
    • Tony Hobden
    • Martin Nicholls
  • Mastered by: John Cornfield
  • Produced by:
    • Tony Hobden
    • Matt Woosey
  • Executive Producer: Jeff Barnes

Copyright Robar Music Records Limited© (